Portrait

Caroline Do Cao

Audiologist at the Institut Raymond-Dewar

Bringing pleasure back into people’s lives. – Caroline Do Cao has been working at the Institut Raymond-Dewar since 2003, and more specifically in the cochlear implant programming clinic since 2008.

Caroline is one of some 20 audiologists specialized in cochlear implant programming in Quebec. Her career choice was informed by her desire to practise a profession that directly helps people. The technological evolution of implants and hearing aids also influenced her decision. 

For Caroline, working in rehabilitation means supporting and helping people in different spheres of their lives. Specialized in cochlear implant programming, she works with users who have significant hearing loss and have had surgery that enables these implants.

Regaining quality of life

In addition to helping them hear as best as possible with their new tool, Caroline gradually determines their hearing needs. Using programming software, she adjusts various electrical current parameters to enable hearing. The cochlear implant has its limitations. There can be individual needs, such as helping a mother be more comfortable with her hearing when she’s in an arena where her child is playing. Or enabling a health worker to better hear with her stethoscope. She sometimes has to overcome programming challenges, because there can be technical specificities with an implant.

“I feel privileged to accompany people and see them progress with their new implant.”

Caroline Do Cao

Customized adjustments must also be made as the user faces new challenges, such as a new work or school environment. “I really feel like I’m contributing to their quality of life because with the work we accomplish together, they can, among other things, communicate better with those around them.”

Thanks to her expertise and knowledge, hundreds of people are able to enjoy small pleasures every day! “I feel privileged to accompany people and see them progress with their new implant. I feel like I’m helping them regain some of life’s pleasures.”

Caroline Do Cao
Audiologist

Portrait

Caroline Do Cao

Audiologiste à l’Institut Raymond-Dewar

Remettre du plaisir dans la vie des gens. – Caroline Do Cao occupe ses fonctions à l’Institut Raymond-Dewar depuis 2003, plus précisément à la Clinique de programmation de l’implant cochléaire depuis 2008.

Caroline fait partie de la vingtaine d’audiologistes spécialisés en programmation d’implants cochléaires au Québec. Son choix de carrière provient de son désir d’exercer une profession qui aide directement les gens. L’évolution technologique des implants et des appareils auditifs l’a aussi influencée.

Pour Caroline, œuvrer en réadaptation, c’est accompagner et aider des personnes dans les différentes sphères de leur vie. Spécialisée en programmation d’implants cochléaires, Elle travaille donc avec des bénéficiaires atteints d’une surdité importante et ayant reçu la chirurgie permettant d’installer cet appareil.

Retrouver une qualité de vie

En plus de leur permettre d’entendre le mieux possible avec leur nouvel outil, Caroline détermine graduellement leurs besoins auditifs. À l’aide d’un logiciel de programmation, elle ajuste différents paramètres de courant électrique permettant d’entendre. L’implant cochléaire a ses limites. Il peut tout de même y avoir des demandes particulières comme aider une maman à être plus confortable auditivement à l’aréna où joue son enfant. Ou permettre à un travailleur de la santé de mieux entendre avec son stéthoscope. Elle relève d’ailleurs parfois des défis de programmation, car il peut y avoir des spécificités techniques avec l’implant.

“Privilégiée d’accompagner les gens et de les voir évoluer avec leur nouvel implant.”

Caroline Do Cao

Des ajustements doivent aussi être apportés à mesure que le bénéficiaire affronte de nouveaux enjeux. (Dans l’environnement de travail ou à l’école par exemple). “J’ai vraiment l’impression de contribuer à leur qualité de vie, puisque grâce au travail accompli ensemble, ils peuvent, entre autres, mieux communiquer avec leur entourage.”

En vertu de son expertise et de ses connaissances, des centaines de gens profitent pleinement des petits bonheurs du quotidien! “Je me sens privilégiée de les accompagner et de les voir évoluer avec leur nouvel implant. J’ai le sentiment de les aider à retrouver certains plaisirs de la vie.”

Caroline Do Cao
Audiologiste