Isabelle Boisvert’ s Invitation

I’d like to tell you my story. My husband and I were riding our motorcycle on Route 138 in Maskinongé. It was June 24, 2015, the early days of summer. On our way back, after having treated ourselves to an ice cream cone, a car veered out of its lane…and hit us head on. At very high speed. I flew 100 metres through the air. 100 metres…and landed in the ditch. Michel, my husband of 14 years, died from his injuries.

It was all so fast. I was taken to hospital where the health team cleaned my wounds and saved my right leg. Then, two weeks later, they amputated my left leg. I also had a brain injury and serious fractures.

These are the facts. The diagnosis. But beyond all of that, there was the pain and the loss of all my markers—with my loving companion at the top of the list. I was grieving and seriously injured. I felt uprooted, unable to think about the future. 

When I was admitted to the Institut de réadaptation Gingras-Lindsay-de-Montréal (IRGLM), seven weeks after the accident, I was completely overwhelmed. The word rehabilitation was beyond my grasp. It was an impossible hurdle.

In fact, there are no words powerful enough to describe all of the relentless work that goes into rehabilitation. It’s a long journey, and every little thing learned is a huge challenge, a mountain to scale. I had to start from zero and relearn every daily gesture, one by one. Something as simple as getting dressed caused moments of discouragement and rage, but, at one point, everything started to turn into small victories, scored one at a time. 

Above all, my physical rehabilitation at IRGLM involved a devoted team of professionals with top-notch expertise and big hearts, as well as privileged access to the very best care and technology. It was at this point that I understood the tangible and vital impact of the REA Foundation. I do not wish rehabilitation on anyone. That said, it is reassuring to know that the REA Foundation is there to fund concrete projects that directly improve the daily lives of people in rehabilitation. It humanizes the care. 

During this holiday period, and because I am well placed to witness its impact, I am calling on your deep compassion to support the REA Foundation. Its funding is key to ensuring the future of rehabilitation. 

My story is similar to those of thousands of people who have to go through rehabilitation, after a stroke, a spinal cord injury, hearing loss, language impairment or an amputation. Thanks to your precious support, they will have access to cutting-edge technology, personalized care and first-rate rehabilitation professionals. Give the REA Foundation the power of its ambitions.

Your donation will have more impact than you could imagine. You will make it possible for people with a disability to find meaning, to remain resilient and positive about the future…even when nothing is going their way, nothing is going as fast as they would like and they feel like their entire world has fallen apart.

To face these physical rehabilitation challenges, we need support and encouragement.
Thank you for supporting the REA Foundation.

Isabelle Boisvert, patient

P.-S. – Making a donation to the REA Foundation means supporting the future of rehabilitation at the Institut de réadaptation Gingras-Lindsay-de-Montréal, the Centre de réadaptation Lucie-Bruneau and the Institut Raymond-Dewar.

Please click to find out everything the REA Foundation has accomplished thanks to your support.

L’invitation d’Isabelle Boisvert

Laissez-moi vous raconter mon histoire. Mon conjoint et moi étions à moto sur la route 138 à Maskinongé. C’était le 24 juin 2015, alors que l’été débutait. Sur le chemin du retour, après s’être payés une bonne crème glacée, une voiture a dévié de sa voie… pour nous frapper de plein fouet. À très haute vitesse. J’ai fait un vol plané de 100 mètres. 100 mètres… pour aboutir dans le fossé. Michel, mon conjoint des 14 dernières années, est décédé des suites de ses blessures.

Tout est allé très vite. J’ai été admise à l’hôpital où le personnel a nettoyé mes plaies et a sauvé ma jambe droite. Puis, deux semaines plus tard, on a procédé à l’amputation de ma jambe gauche. En plus, j’ai subi, durant l’accident, un traumatisme cranio-cérébral et d’importantes fractures.

Ce sont les faits. Le diagnostic. Mais au-delà de celui-ci, il y a la douleur et la perte de tous mes repères – mon amoureux en tête de liste. J’étais endeuillée et gravement blessée. Je me suis sentie déracinée, incapable de penser à l’avenir.

Quand j’ai été admise à l’Institut de réadaptation Gingras-Lindsay-de-Montréal (IRGLM), sept semaines après l’accident, c’était trop. Le mot réadaptation me dépassait. C’était un obstacle impossible à franchir.

En fait, il n’y a pas de mot assez fort pour exprimer tout le travail acharné qui se cache derrière une réadaptation. C’est une longue aventure, pendant laquelle chaque petit apprentissage est un grand défi, une montagne à gravir. J’ai dû repartir à zéro et réapprendre chaque geste du quotidien, un à un. Des actions aussi simples que de m’habiller m’ont fait vivre des moments de découragement, de profondes colères, mais, au bout d’un moment, le tout s’est transformé en de petites victoires, gagnées une à une.

Ma réadaptation physique à l’IRGLM, ce fut avant tout une équipe de professionnels dévoués, dotée d’une expertise de pointe et d’un grand cœur, un accès privilégié aux meilleurs soins et à la meilleure technologie. C’est à ce moment que j’ai compris l’impact tangible et essentiel de la Fondation RÉA. Je ne souhaite à personne de devoir faire de la réadaptation. Cela dit, c’est rassurant de savoir que la Fondation RÉA est là pour financer des projets concrets qui améliorent directement le quotidien des gens en réadaptation. Elle humanise les soins. 

En cette période des fêtes, et parce que je suis bien placée pour témoigner de son impact, je fais appel à votre grande générosité de cœur pour donner votre appui à la Fondation RÉA. Son financement est crucial pour assurer l’avenir de la réadaptation. 

Mon histoire ressemble à celle de milliers d’individus qui doivent faire face à la réadaptation, à la suite d’un accident vasculaire cérébral, d’une blessure à la moelle épinière, d’une perte auditive, d’un trouble du langage ou d’une amputation. Grâce à votre précieux appui, ils auront accès à une technologie de pointe, à des soins personnalisés et aux meilleurs professionnels de la réadaptation. Donnez à la Fondation RÉA le pouvoir de ses ambitions. 

Votre don aura plus d’impact que vous ne le pensez. Vous permettrez aux personnes en situation de handicap de trouver un sens, de rester résilients et positifs face à l’avenir… même quand plus rien ne va comme tu le veux, ni aussi vite que tu le souhaites et même après avoir senti ton monde s’écrouler.

Pour affronter les défis de la réadaptation physique, nous devons être soutenus et entourés. Merci de soutenir la Fondation RÉA.

Isabelle Boisvert, patiente

P.-S. – Un don à la Fondation RÉA, c’est soutenir l’avenir de la réadaptation à l’Institut de réadaptation Gingras-Lindsay-de-Montréal, au Centre de réadaptation Lucie-Bruneau et à l’Institut Raymond-Dewar.

Voyez ici les plus récentes réalisations de la Fondation RÉA.