Ten days before he was born, Evan’s diagnosis hit us like a tonof bricks : he was completely deaf in both ears.

First, it was shock, disbelief and pure emotion. But very quickly, we swung into action and surgery was proposed for two cochlear implants. In 15 minutes, the decision was made. The best decision I could have made for my son, his auditory health and, above all, giving him a chance to live a full life. A few months later, the surgery was performed in Québec City, and it was a success!

I felt such relief. But there was more to come. Implants require constant programming and regular adjustments. That’s when the Institut Raymond-Dewar (IRD) and France Henry came into our lives.

And thankfully, they still are! Our arrival at the IRD and, above all, our first meeting with France made all the difference to our family. For Evan, of course, but also for us, his parents. Without her, I would have been completely lost. Words cannot express my gratitude for having France Henry in our lives then, and now as she still works tirelessly to help our son week after week.

As soon as we walked in, we were looked after and reassured and, above all, we realized that we were not alone. They gave us so much hope for our son—not to mention peace of mind!

We knew that we could not take anything for granted and we that there would still be challenges ahead, like speech delay. But that first meeting will always be a precious memory for me: the best thing life could have offered my son.

Since then, I’ve known that I’m surrounded, supported, heard and considered as a mother who sometimes still has to navigate the unknown waters of deafness. I’m also part of a network of other families who are living similar realities, and this is invaluable. Now, I can sometimes even forget that Evan wears implants because he hears sounds so well without me having to make any special efforts when I talk to him.

I want to thank the IRD and France, who, from the very first moment, gave us so much hope for our son. And I would also like to say a special thank you to the REA Foundation.

The Foundation’s role is crucial in terms of continuously improving the quality of care and technology it offers—for this it deserves our recognition and our support. They played a vital role in providing the telerehabilitation technology we needed (see inset) and in the moves of the Raymond Dewar Institute. Whether rehabilitation affects your life directly or indirectly, please show your support by giving today.

Signature maman d'Evan

Cynthia Savard, Evan’s mother

Photo d'Evan et sa mère

Dix jours seulement après sa naissance, le diagnostic tombait pour Evan : il était sourd profond des deux oreilles.

Au début, il y a le choc, l’incompréhension et l’émotion. Mais très rapidement, on se met en mode action et on nous propose de l’opérer afin qu’il puisse porter deux implants cochléaires. En 15 minutes, la décision était prise. La meilleure décision que j’aie pu prendre pour mon fils, pour sa santé auditive et surtout pour qu’il s’accomplisse pleinement.

Quelques mois plus tard, l’opération a eu lieu à Québec et ce fut un succès. Quel soulagement! Mais ce n’était pas tout. Ce qu’il faut savoir, c’est que les implants  nécessitent une programmation constante et des ajustements réguliers pour bien fonctionner. C’est là que l’Institut Raymond-Dewar (IRD) et France Henry sont arrivés dans nos vies.

Et par chance, ils y sont toujours! Notre arrivée à l’IRD et tout particulièrement la première rencontre avec France ont tout changé pour notre famille. Pour Evan évidemment, mais aussi pour nous, les parents. Sans elle, je serais complètement perdue. Je n’aurai jamais assez de mot pour exprimer ma gratitude d’avoir France Henry dans nos vies, elle qui travaille encore si fort chaque semaine pour notre fils.

Dès le départ, nous avons été pris en charge complètement, rassurés, et surtout nous avons réalisé que nous n’étions pas seuls dans cette situation. Quel soulagement!

Mais au-delà du soulagement, c’est l’espoir qui voyait enfin le jour. Nous savions que rien n’était gagné d’avance et que nous aurions des défis à surmonter, comme un retard langagier. Mais je garde un précieux souvenir de notre première rencontre : la plus belle chose que la vie pouvait offrir à mon garçon.

Depuis ce temps, je me sais entourée, soutenue, écoutée et considérée comme maman qui navigue encore parfois dans l’inconnu de cet univers de la surdité. Je peux également compter sur un réseau d’autres familles qui vivent des réalités similaires et ça n’a pas de prix. Aujourd’hui, j’en arrive parfois à oublier qu’Evan porte des implants, tellement il capte bien les sons sans que j’aie à fournir des efforts particuliers lorsque je lui parle.

Merci à l’IRD ainsi qu’à France qui, dès les premiers instants, nous a donné tellement d’espoir pour notre fils. Enfin, j’ai un merci tout spécial à adresser à la Fondation RÉA.

Le rôle de la Fondation est crucial pour la qualité et l’amélioration des technologies et soins offerts et elle mérite notre reconnaissance et notre soutien. Elle a joué un grand rôle dans le déploiement de la technologie de téléréadaptation (voir l’encart) et dans les déménagements de l’Institut Raymond-Dewar. Que la réadaptation vous touche de près ou de loin, je vous invite à témoigner votre appui en donnant aujourd’hui.

Signature maman d'Evan

Cynthia Savard, maman d’Evan