Invitation of Alexandre Thibault

I look back, less than two years ago, to that day at the Régates de Valleyfield hydroplane race, surrounded by friends, living life to the fullest, and eagerly awaiting the birth of my son, Logan. It was a hot day. There was a long dock. I dove in. But I was fooled by the length of the dock. The water was barely two feet deep and I ended up a tetraplegic. I was in the water for 30 minutes, waiting for help to come. People were touching me, but I couldn’t feel anything. It was surreal. The truth hit me like a ton of bricks…

Two weeks later, while I was hospitalized, Logan was born. I cried so hard. At that point, I couldn’t even take him in my arms. But today I can, thanks to the generosity of people like you who make donations to the REA Foundation.

After my hospitalization, I started rehabilitation. You can’t really understand the meaning of that word unless you’ve experienced it. Supported by a team of professionals filled with kindness, I had access to the best care and state-of-the-art technology that allowed me to take charge of my new reality. I saw the concrete impact of the REA Foundation. 

I have to admit that my rehabilitation wasn’t always easy. I single-mindedly focused on my little man, Logan. I was ready to do anything to be the best father I could be to him. To see him grow up. To give him all the love in the world. To develop a real father-son relationship with him.

To help me in my new role as a father, I was able to turn to the services of the Clinique Parents Plus, funded by the REA Foundation. This service is offered to parents like me, to help us develop a connection with our child.

Concretely, the clinic taught me how to adapt to my reality so that I could give Logan the care he needed. The clinic also loaned me some equipment. But the Clinique Parents Plus does so much more than that…

Without it, I would’ve missed out on wonderful moments with my son; moments that helped me build a real relationship with him. When I realized that I was able to put my son to bed and cuddle with him thanks to the Clinic’s elevated bed, I was so happy…and proud! To be able to wrap my arms around him, to feel his warmth…words fail me. We formed a beautiful bond. Now, when he’s sitting on my lap, he knows that he can trust me, that he won’t fall!

And because I’m well placed to know that the Clinique Parents Plus provides a vital service and that I want it to be able to help more parents who, like me, will be able to experience unique, glorious and important moments with their children, I’m asking you to make a concrete gesture today. I hope to be able to count on you to make a donation to support this clinic “of miracles,” which needs immediate financial support. 

With your precious support, other patients with a disability will be able to savour each moment in their relationship with their child, despite their reality. I can assure you that your donation goes further than you think. You’ll help them reignite that spark for life. And you’ll also make it possible for children to have the best parents in the world.

From the bottom of my heart: thank you!


Alexandre Thibault, proud father of Logan

P.S. – I invite you to read the activity report to see how the REA Foundation supports many other initiatives for people living with a motor impairment, like me, but also for those with a sensory impairment or language impairment.

L’invitation d’Alexandre Thibault

Je me revois, il y a moins de deux ans, aux Régates de Valleyfield entouré de mes amis à profiter de la vie et à attendre impatiemment la naissance de mon fils, Logan. Il faisait chaud. Il avait un long quai. J’ai plongé. Mais je me suis fait avoir par la longueur du quai. Il y avait à peine deux pieds de profondeur et je me suis retrouvé tétraplégique. Je suis resté dans l’eau pendant 30 minutes, en attendant les secours. Les gens me touchaient, mais je ne sentais rien. C’était irréel. La réalité m’a frappé de plein fouet…

Deux semaines plus tard, alors que j’étais hospitalisé, Logan naissait. J’ai tellement pleuré. Alors qu’il m’était impossible à cet instant de poser un geste aussi simple que de le câliner, je peux aujourd’hui le faire grâce à des gens généreux qui, comme vous, font des dons à la Fondation RÉA.

Après mon hospitalisation, j’ai entamé ma réadaptation. Un mot dont on ne peut connaître réellement le sens que lorsque l’on y est confronté. Accompagné par une équipe de professionnels remplis de bonté, j’ai eu accès aux meilleurs soins et à une technologie de pointe qui m’ont permis d’apprivoiser ma nouvelle réalité. J’ai pu y voir l’impact concret de la Fondation RÉA.

Ma réadaptation, je dois l’avouer, n’a pas toujours été facile. Je ne pensais qu’à mon petit homme, Logan. J’étais prêt à tout pour être le meilleur papa pour lui. Pour le voir grandir. Pour lui donner tout l’amour du monde. Pour développer une réelle relation père-fils avec lui.

Pour m’aider dans mon rôle de nouveau papa, j’ai pu profiter des services de la Clinique Parents Plus, dont le développement est financé par la Fondation RÉA. Un service offert à des parents comme moi, dans le développement de leur lien avec leur enfant.

Concrètement, la Clinique m’a appris à adapter les soins à offrir à Logan à ma réalité, en plus de me prêter certains équipements. Mais la Clinique Parents Plus, c’est tellement plus que ça…

Sans elle, j’aurais manqué de merveilleux moments près de mon fils; des moments qui m’ont permis d’établir une vraie relation avec lui. Quand j’ai réalisé que j’étais capable de coucher mon garçon et de le câliner en même temps grâce au lit surélevé de la Clinique, j’étais tellement heureux… et fier! Juste de le coller et de sentir sa chaleur, c’est indescriptible. Ça nous a grandement rapprochés. Maintenant, quand il est assis sur moi, il sait qu’il peut me faire confiance et qu’il ne tombera pas!


Et parce que je suis bien placé pour savoir que la Clinique Parents Plus est cruciale et que je souhaite qu’elle puisse aider davantage de parents qui, comme moi, pourront vivre des moments uniques, grandioses et tellement importants, je vous invite à poser un geste concret aujourd’hui. J’espère pouvoir compter sur vous pour faire un don afin d’appuyer cette clinique « des miracles » qui a un important besoin de financement immédiat.

Grâce à votre précieux appui, d’autres parents en situation de handicap pourront savourer chaque moment de leur relation avec leur enfant, malgré leur réalité. Votre don fera plus de chemin que vous ne le croyez, je vous l’assure. Vous leur transmettrez l’étincelle du goût de la vie. Vous permettrez aussi à des enfants d’avoir… les meilleurs parents au monde.

Du plus profond de mon cœur : merci!

Alexandre Thibault, fier papa de Logan

P.-S. – Je vous invite à consulter le rapport d’activités pour voir comment la Fondation RÉA appuie de nombreuses autres initiatives pour des personnes vivant avec une déficience motrice, comme moi, mais également pour celles ayant une déficience sensorielle ou un trouble du langage.